Tuesday, 14 September 2021

Inauguration of Student Association (Department of Sociology and Social Work)

    The Inauguration of the Department of Sociology and Social Work Student Association was held on the 15th of September, 2021. On this day, the elected office bearers of the Student Association were officially enlisted and administered the oath of office. Ms Meenakshi Prashanth and Ms Ashni Maria Jose were the event’s hosts. The event began with the Lighting of the Lamp coupled with a melodious rendition of the Invocation song by Ms Dishita. Ms Sanhitha Nama welcomed the dignitaries gracing the occasion. The chief guest - Dr Sapna S, Head, School of Law, CHRIST (Deemed to be University), Bengaluru, the Chair - Dr Tony Sam George, Dean, School of Social Sciences, CHRIST (Deemed to be University), Bengaluru and Dr Victor Paul, Head of the Department of Sociology and Social Work were part of the event.

    Dr Tony Sam George addressed the gathering asserting that “we can no longer lead like how we led before.” He imparted his pearls of wisdom regarding leadership and social contributions in the pandemic and post-pandemic era and congratulated the office-bearers. The chief guest Dr Sapna addressed the gathering and spoke extensively about how the association members need to be aware and mindful of the opportunities they can create, come across, and use effectively to contribute to empowerment and community transformation.

    After the dignitaries addressed the gathering, Ms Meenakshi invited and welcomed the office-bearers. This was followed by Ms Ashni asking Dr Victor Paul to conduct the oath-taking and install the office-bearers to the Student Association. After Dr Paul administered the oath, he addressed the gathering. He congratulated the previous Association members on their hard work and achievements and welcomed the new members.

    Mr Aashik Mathews, Former President of the Association, was invited to felicitate the gathering. He shared his experiences in the Association and presented the annual report for the previous academic year. He also inspired and encouraged the current members to take on challenges and uphold the integrity of the Association. Dr Om Prakash LT, the Sociology cluster coordinator, was then invited to address the gathering. He shared a couple of instances that helped great leaders build leadership qualities to inspire the office-bearers. Ms Keshavi Agarwal, President of the Association, shared the vision for the Student Association. Finally, the event was concluded with a vote of thanks delivered by Ms Nikita H, Vice-President (UG).

No comments:

Post a Comment